The Sister Review

29920081

Grace hasn’t been the same since the death of her best friend Charlie. She is haunted by Charlie’s words, the last time she saw her, and in a bid for answers, opens an old memory box of Charlie’s. It soon becomes clear there was a lot she didn’t know about her best friend.

When Grace starts a campaign to find Charlie’s father, Anna, a girl claiming to be Charlie’s sister steps forward. For Grace, finding Anna is like finding a new family, and soon Anna has made herself very comfortable in Grace and boyfriend Dan’s home.

But something isn’t right. Things disappear, Dan’s acting strangely and Grace is sure that someone is following her. Is it all in Grace’s mind? Or as she gets closer to discovering the truth about both Charlie and Anna, is Grace in terrible danger?

There was nothing she could have done to save Charlie …or was there?

REVIEW:

“A psychological thriller with a brilliant twist you won’t see coming.” That’s the promise in the title. My initial reaction was, “I’ll be the judge of that.”

The main character, Grace, was well developed. I could sympathize with her up to a point. At times she seemed too needy, too paranoid, and too willing to jump to conclusions. I liked Charlie more because she was stronger and unafraid of tackling life. I was sorry Charlie just up and left. Anna was everything I expected her to be.

Supporting characters like Dan, Grandma and Grandad and Lexie were important. Grace’s mother could have been left out, though, I think. She was so very minor.

The switching from Then to Now and back was not a problem for me, but I had to pay close attention to the titles. Many times a Now followed a Now, for instance.

This was a well written debut novel. I felt an impending doom throughout the book, and it held my interest to the end. I think I would have left the title as just “The Sister.”

Leave a Reply

