Miss Peregrine’sHome for Peculiar Children Review + Movie Talk

9460487

GOODREADS:

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

REVIEW:

This book was different and interesting. I’m so glad I can finally read and watch reviews on it so I don’t spoil myself. ;] The beginning of this book was great, and the early middle (does that make sense?) was a little boring, but the ending was spectacular! The perfect amount of suspense and action.

The main character named Jacob who has a strong bond with his grandfather. He’s been told these fairy tales about an orphanage he used to live at. Something happens to his grandfather and he is left with a few clues and an island to try and discover the mysteries behind his life. He bites off a little bit more than he can chew when he arrives.

What I loved most about the book is the photographs dispersed in the book every once in a while. I’m a very visual person and loved them! I also loved that they were real photographs collected by private owners and we’re touched up much.

The only thing I didn’t like about this book is Jacob doesn’t sound like a teenager and the descriptions were a little bit wordy. I felt like he could’ve shaved 100 pages off the book. I would’ve liked Jacob to be a bit more like a teen boy and not this overly educated individual.

This book was charming, scary, and absolutely breathtaking and whimsical. Excited for the next one!

MOVIE TALK:

 

By this trailer…let me tell you! I am so excited to sit my tush down to see this on September 30! I read this book because I heard Jesse The Reader talking about how it is his favorite book and then when I heard the movie was coming out it gave me the perfect excuse to actually read it. I was not disappointed! I gave it a 5 out of 5 star and I 100% recommend this to everyone!

Leave a Reply

